nothing but fragments

November 18, 2016

light-and-night

When I finished the poems in The Lotus Flowers, I came to suspect the orderly structure of narrative – beginning, middle, and end. For about two years I wrote nothing but fragments. I came to think of them as “middles,” as having anti-narrative impulses behind them. I also came to think of them as what a painter might produce, what Monet did when he went out to paint the same haystack every day in different light. For me, that meant allowing myself to take on huge subjects – truth, or beauty, or innocence – and go to that subject every day and have the variant be tone. What would be light for a painter would be tone for a poet.

Ellen Bryant Voigt
Interview with Steven Cramer

Leave a Reply

