Blue-Eyed Lion

December 4, 2016

lion-lover

let me talk of my brother
the lion heart
and the kittensoft heart
and the oceanheart and the steady
and the eyes like a
blue-eyed lion
and the deep ocean soul
singing it up and always singing.
he doesn’t know i am in awe,
that i only touch the surface
of the places that he dives to;
that i would give him all my money
or the keys to anything.
i think he is a prophet;
that he walks the earth an inch or two above
and below us,
the earth he tends
and sings to;
and the earth sings back
and grows the collard greens from the singing
and the rain.
let me talk of my brother
because he won’t tell you himself
like my father and my grandfather before him
the humble lion singing from his heart.

Heather Nova

Leave a Reply

