I’m not that concerned

December 5, 2016

amedeo-modigliani-female-figure

I turn quotes in my head
I want to recite Buffy
but I need to publish some books,
at least two books, before that.

I’m sure there’s some exponential degree
before I discuss Third Eye Blind.
They’re a band people used to know,
but everyone whines about Goyte
while I pretend I didn’t buy acrylic paint
to replicate the video for Halloween.

I’ve read more Steinbeck
than I’ll ever read poems,
prayed for Jeffrey Goldblum’s safety
from velociraptors.

Nothing I do is cool.
I’m not that concerned
because I can wear short skirts
and don’t need anti-aging cream:
I’m still carded at bars.

Tracy Diamond

Leave a Reply

