In her sleep she cracks walnuts and feeds the darkness

December 6, 2016

egglight

Diary 6th December

Muggy this morning. The sky fell on the moor during the night, smothering it and its few inhabitants in this damp closeness.

#

Yesterday I did a little work. A very little work. Finished reading “About KANE: the playwright and the work” by Graham Saunders. Here, we are able to read Sarah Kane’s own words on her plays. For example this, on ascribing meaning to the play “Crave”:

‘I was trying to do something different with Crave which was in a way about not releasing control, but about opening up options. In some ways for me Crave is very specific. It has very fixed and specific meanings in my mind, which no one else can possibly know, unless I told them. For example, who here knows what 199714424 means? None of you knows. I’m the only person that knows – beside the actors – and I’ve no intention of telling anyone what it means. So I can’t possibly expect to see the same production twice.’

An excellent little book, highly recommended.

#

Diebus ac noctibus…ingemiscit.

#

And who dealt me the feckin’ Ace of Spades on the day of my birthing? A card of ill omen, if ever there was one, full of malice, misfortune and perhaps death.

Leave a Reply

